Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 4, 2003, 12:23 AM   #1
JiB

Default "no fault" warrantee question

This is my first post on this forum. Iím a total newbee at digital photography, but learning a lot from the reviews and most importantly all of you on the discussion boards.

I'm planning on purchasing my first digital camera within the next few weeks, more than likely a Canon G3 or something similar. One of the camera shops in town offers with I think is called a "no fault" service policy that covers any and all damages (like dropping a camera in the river). Since the camera will be used outdoors & on the water quite a bit the no fault warranty is particularly attractive to me. I have visions of dropping an expensive camera in the river while trying to photograph a friend landing a nice fish & ending up with an expensive paperweight. I'm researching waterproof bags that will allow me to use the camera while it's in the bag but would feel more comfortable with some coverage to protect my investment.

My question is this; is this type of "no fault" warranty available through the mail order & Internet dealers? Do any of you have experience with this type of warrantee?

Thanks in advance for any help.

John
JiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2003, 12:36 AM   #2

JiB,
Almost sounds more like an insurance policy. How much is the cam, how much is the policy?
I have taken video cams early ones were you had to have a portable VHS deck in back pack skiing on black diamond runs, have had the the passanger on my harley shooting while cruising. I just make sure I have a waterproof case for when not using. Find out how long company has been around and say in 2 years if cam gets "destroyed" will they replace with the current equal canon or the the reduced value of a cam out of production.
Gary
Gary Senkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2003, 1:30 AM   #3