Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 16, 2005, 10:04 PM   #1

I am new to digital. I would like to backup the pictures I have taken that are on my computer. I have a CD burner on my Gateway. The only thing I have ever burned is music. I even have to do research on how to burn pictures to a CD.
I have two questions about this subject. First is there any special type of blank CD I need to buy to burn my pictures to? I have always bought CDs that said music CDs. Will these work or do I need another type.
Second question is afterI burn these pictures on CDs will they keep just as the originals. In other words if I put them back on the computer from the CD will they look just like before I burned them? Will I still be able to do everything that I could before? Such as export, enhance, crop, etc?
I did think of one other question along this line. Some labs say they can make prints if you put them on CD. This way you can do whatever you want to them before you put them on CD, such as enhance them? Will the pictures come out just as good as if I just brought in my memory card?
ken212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2005, 10:29 PM   #2

Photos burn as regular data and are exact digital duplicates of the original. If you copy them back to the computer they are exactly the same as the originals. You will have to change the attributes from "read only" to archive, but you can do that all at once with little hassle.

Your music CDs will work fine. They are made for recorders on entertainment players and have a code that shows you paid some royalty fees to the recording industry in the purchase price. You don't need them to record music on your computer. They aren't better in any way other than having the code that shows you paid extra for them.