Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 15, 2003, 12:17 PM   #1

Default Aerial Photography

I'm a professional pilot and spend hundreds of hours per year in the air over forest fires. I'm new to digital photography and am seeking recommendations for a camera to use while on assignment. My 35mm film camera is a Minolta 7000si with a variety of lenses and it works quite well despite most shots from the airplane being taken handheld.

Very few people have an opportunity to see wildfires up close from the air so I would like to be able to take qood quality printable digital images, as well as short videos that will be transmitted via satellite data-link.

On location I am typically 1,000 - 2,000 feet overhead, between 1/8 mile and 1 mile from the action. Wide-angle and ultra-zoom are both important. Suggestions from anyone with experience taking digital photo's from aircraft, tall buildings, or similar high places would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2003, 12:29 PM   #2

Is the turbulence very bad inside the aircraft? How steady would the camera be?
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2003, 12:48 PM   #3

This might sound strange, but will there be someone else taking the pictures, or is remote control a requirement? What about "Take a picture ever X seconds" and just review them later?

That distance is *very* far from your subject. You'd have to live without real closeups without spending some serious money (if at all... someone else would have to say for sure.)

Engine shake on the camera is probably going to be bad enough that turbulence wouldn't matter. I wonder about heat distoring the light causing a reduction in image quality....

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2003, 1:23 PM   #4