Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 1, 2005, 1:27 AM   #1

Folks, I havewhat I consider a stupid question but that deserves an answer: What makes one a professional photographer? Is it going to Versity or college and qualifying with a degree in photography, is it knowledge in photography andquality of photography or is it this title confered by some organisation? How does one get there? Thanks.
Aumma45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 1, 2005, 3:48 AM   #2

Well, I'm not a professional photographer, but IMO, making a living by doing photography makes you a professional photographer. IE, photography is your main job. Or at least one of your jobs.

To make money out of photography, you need to be good of course. Thus a degree would definitely help. For me personally, its too expensive doing a course in photography, so Im downloading online courses, tips andtutorials like a man posessed.

The University of the northwest (Potchefstroom University) has a creativity centre that offers a couple of coursesin photography. As far as I know they have one evening class a week. It costs a couple of thousand rand for the 3 month course (is not a degree). I have not personally done it, but have seen some of the students work, and it looks very good to me.

There should be similar courses in Jhb and Pta.
Carrots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 3:52 AM   #3
Super Moderator

according to the definition as found in the rulebook of the internation olympic committee (IOC)...the demarcation between amateur and professional is... j/k of course..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2005, 5:44 AM   #4