Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 26, 2003, 12:45 AM   #1

Default Support for photographing images on horizontal plane

I am a newbie whose pet obsession is genealogy which requires that I photograph old documents in archives where scanning is not permitted.

Will someone please suggest what suitable camera supports are available to photograph documents and old images that are on a horizontal plane. A normal tripod is not suitable as the camera cannot be centred over the document and if angled, the images are distorted although perfectly legible.
Peter Gundry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2003, 6:07 AM   #2

Needs a bit of lateral thinking. Assume you mean docs on some sort of table.

Digicams are light, so what's wrong with modifying a microphone stand with a counter balanced bar. Put the cam where the mic goes, and hang over the table. Most cams don't have cable release so use the 10 second self timer. Angled lcd screen might be handy.

You could try a similar idea with a table tripod, with some weight on the vertical centre as well for extra stability. Cheers VOX
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2003, 9:25 AM   #3

A different twist or looking at the problem from another angle....

If these are loose-leaf documents that can be positioned vertically, then get one of those short tripods and position/tape/stand your documents against a wall or sturdy perpendicular surface. If this configuration is possible, you can shoot them all the same.
WeekendWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2003, 10:23 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by voxmagna
Most cams don't have cable release so use the 10 second self timer. Angled lcd screen might be handy.