Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 4, 2003, 4:58 AM   #1

Default What's the reason for ISO in a digital camera

Hi. I've been an amature photographer for many years, and partially understand the reasoning for iso. Different iso grades of film emulsion are used to allow for better photography in diff shooting situations. A higher iso allows for better shooting in low light or faster action shots but also increases grain.

What is the purpose of implementing iso levels in a digital camera? Both are basically noise (I know grain can be used artistically). But in a digital medium, aren't we fighting to eliminate noise from our images? It's easy enough to introduce noise into digital images post snapping with software, so why would we want to play around with iso (noise levels) in a digital camera?

I know its used to get faster speeds in low light etc, just like a film camera, but film is an analog chemical emulsion. It seems like iso simply simulates film grain by using noise. Ccd's I guess induce noise in the absence of adequate light, but why switch to a higher iso which seems to introduce more noise just to get off a picture with more noise in it? For example, why don't all digital cameras simply offer or default to shoot at a standard iso of 50 giving you the cleanest noise free image possible? I know I wouldn't want to shoot anything in iso 400 judging from the amount of noise I've seen in cameras offering this iso level. I'd always want to shoot at 50 or 100 max.

Is this a ccd engineering or design limitation?

Thanks.
ardigitalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2003, 7:33 AM   #2