Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 10, 2005, 6:58 PM   #1

Hi, I have a Canon 20D which I am still learning to use. My question is, what settings for photographing the full moon? Thanks for your help.
cock3tail is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2005, 7:31 PM   #2

I think this topic was talked about before but im not sure where at. I do believe it said to set your aperture to 8 or just as hight as it would go i guess and set the shutter at about 250. i have not tried this myselfand am not sure ifits rightbut iwould like to try it just havent got around to it. good luck with learning your way around your camera and good luck with the shot. and im sure if im wrong about the advice someone will correct me. good luck!

Dean
badhabbit05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 9:00 PM   #3

If you mean shooting the moon when it is lit, just rember the old sunny f/16 rule: shoot at f/16 with a shutter speed of 1/ISO. As an example with ISO 100, f/16 @1/100th or f/11 @ 1/200th or f/8 @ 1/400 or ... Bracket from there.

When the sun is shining on the moon, it is a subject in bright sunlight.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2005, 2:51 AM   #4

Dean and Bill, thanks to you both.

And Bill, I am after the full moon that is on the way.
Old Oct 11, 2005, 10:41 AM   #5

I would also suggest you try a few shots in Program "P" mode. See what it suggests.

When you say you are trying to photograph the moon, do you mean only the moon, or a night shot with the moon in it? The moon is very bright (at least when its full) so you'll need very different settings to get a shot with just it vs. a moon "scene" as it were.

I have struggled with moon "scenes" but gotten a few good ones. Most have very low shutter speeds.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2005, 10:43 AM   #6
DBB

ISO 800, f13, 1/400, shot 15 minutes after dawn. Swarovski AT 80 HD, 1100mm adapter, hand held

Dave