Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 12, 2005, 9:39 AM   #1

I am a newbie to this and am hoping someone can educate me how to take better pictures. This is what I am thinking:

In low light condition, set the camera in Shutter Priority mode and shoot wide open (probably about F2.8) and set ISO at the highest possible 400 or 1600 depending on the camera.

In action mode, set the camera in Shutter Speed priority mode of 1/60th a second or faster to prevent blur.

Not sure what to set the camera In good/ideal lighting condition other than leave it in auto mode and change ISO to 50, 80 or 100.
Thanks for any advise.
cuthien is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2005, 11:45 AM   #2

I normally use aperture priority. For most pictures, the depth of field is more of a variable on what you are going for than the shutter speed. Action photos (or artistic blurring, at the other end of speed scale) are the clear exceptions. But, most often, you want to either blur your background for effect or allow the background to be clearly visible. And that means controlling the aperture. Similarly, in yourlow light exaample, the easiest way to get a maximum aperture is to set it. Let the speed do whatever it needs to.

Controlling the ISO can make sense, especially in low light -- because many cameras won't automatically set themselves to the fastest ISO. For example, my FZ20 will select on auto between 80, 100, and 200. To get 400, I have to manually select it.