Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 17, 2005, 7:25 AM   #1

I have encountered a strange problem (let me explain.) I have been using an Olympus C-5050 5MP camera for a couple of years, and I absolutely love it. I have been taking aerial photos, and some of my results have been stunning. Often from the air, the camera picks up some haze that isn't visible with the human eye. I set the camera to the highest jpg resolution and then make the correction, using Jasc's Paint Shop Pro. Often the results are great, and the size of the photo gets reduced from about 3.5MB down to maybe just over 2MB. This still leaves plenty of resolution for enlargements. I had an aerial shot of my hometown enlarged to 24" X 36", and the results were very good. Now for the problem:
I recently purchased a Casio Exilim EX-Z110 6.3MP camera. I had a need for a smaller and lighter camera for a project, and this seemed to fit the bill. My preference for batteries are AA, and although I couldn't find a compact camera that uses a CF card, I was able to get a 1GB SD card for the Casio, so I thought it would suffice. When I set the casio up for the highest jpg resolution, in daylight, most of the shots are over 4MB each. And that is OK, BUT: when I use the "one button fix" in Paint Shop Pro, the size of the image gets reduced to about 1MB and often less than that.
I don't understand the disparity between the two mfg.'s. I used the Casio for some ground shots, and haven't even taken an aerial shot yet. I can't imagine how much resolution I will lose if there is any ground or UV haze in the picture.