Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 19, 2005, 5:41 PM   #1

Hello all,

:??I am very new to macro photography and had alot of problems with lighting. I've used multiple lights with pretty good results, but a pain to carry them around, ya know?:sad: Considered a light tent/box, but came up with the same conclusion. Then I thought about light rings. Way too much $ for my wallet, so I looked around the net and found a few sites with homemade lights. Well, a lightbulb went off in my head, being a machinist by trade, I figured I'd give it a go. It came out very well. It has 18 13,000 rated LED's angled 20 degrees toward center all powered by 3 AA batteries. Bingo! All my problems solved right? Not so fast. Everything has a blue tint to it. My question is, is there some kind of filter I can purchase to eliminate this problem??? Like I said, I'm new to all this and am hoping for some kind of easy fix. PLEASE, PLEASE help me out!!!

Thanks, Wayne
waynespixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2005, 6:41 PM   #2

If your camera has a manual white balance function, use it. Get a gray card and place it under the lights you're using, and follow your camera's instructions for custom white balance setting. If you don't have a gray card, you could even use your hand in a pinch.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2005, 6:51 PM   #3

HI,

Thanks for getting back to me. I do have manual white bal but I've tried all settings and no change. I really don't understand your point about a gray card (never heard of them) or it's placement. I'm using a light ring, where would I put it?

Thanks, Wayne
waynespixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2005, 8:30 PM   #4