Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 13, 2003, 5:00 AM   #1

Default Adobe Photoshop Elements 2.0

Hi there,

I'm thinking of shelling out for Photoshop Elements 2.0. I'm quite new to digital and have just replaced my Nikon F-70 with an S45 Powershot.

Will this software be enough to cover all my needs (downloading, editing, cataloguing, e-mailing...etc) as a keen amateur. And therefore, can I un-install the software that came with the camera? (I hate unneccessary clutter on my PC).

Is the Photoshop family really the best imaging software out there?

Will my aging P2/350 - 40GbHDD - 256Mb ram machine handle it?

Please help me make a good decision.

Thanks
Ian
Igas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2003, 6:57 AM   #2

To my mind Photoshop Elements 2.0 gives you all of the basic functions that you need (in terms of editing) to go from camera JPEG to print / Internet publish. You can use it to crop images, change contrast, lighten & darken exposure and apply unsharp mask. There are also layers but I've never messed with those.

It doesn't do downloading or any special cataloguing, but I use a PC-MCIA adapter for the former and a directory structure on the PC for the latter.

I can't advise on the overall suitability your hardware.
checklg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2003, 9:07 AM   #3

Many thanks for your reply Graham.

You are so right in suggesting that you don't need a particular program to store and catalog your work. A normal windows directory structure is probably enough. I use a SanDisk CF cardreader for downloading to my PC, so I suppose I can safely discard the bundled software.

One question though. Can you download images taken in RAW file format and view them with just Photoshop Elements as your software? In other words, does PE have a RAW-to-JPEG converter built-in?

Regards,
Ian
Igas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2003, 9:42 AM   #4