Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 20, 2003, 3:29 AM   #1

Default Is a UV filter a requirement

Hello all. I'm a newbie that just picked up my first camera and I have a quick question. I got a good deal on an Olympus C4000 and I was wondering if it is highly recommended that I pick up a UV filter. I read some posts about members using those filters and was wondering what exactly it will do for the pics, along with the longevity of the lens.

Thanks in advance for any replies.
hocuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2003, 9:52 AM   #2

I use a tube adaptor from Kenko.41-52mm with a UV filter from Tiffen.It is good protection for the lens.The reason I use that adaptor is more filters are available in 52mm and I get no vignetting.With this adaptor I need no step up ring.I have the C-5050 and I believe this will also work with the C-4000.

Ray

D490Z,C-5050
EasyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2003, 10:02 AM   #3

hocuz,

Check out my PBase.com page for the add-ons you can get for the C-4000:

http://www.pbase.com/hyunyu/addons

Good luck.
Hyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2003, 10:15 AM   #4

Hyun,
I also bought the 41-43 adaptor,but found that a lot of filters were not available in that size and the ones that were available,were much more expensive.The 41-52 adaptor gives you a much larger field to choose from and less expense for adding filters etc.Besides I don't have to worry about vignetting when using more than one filter.Although the most I've used is two at once.

Ray

D490Z,C-5050
EasyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2003, 10:54 AM   #5

hocus

UV filters are more for protection of the lens than any other reason. You will need a tube adapter. I have a Kenco 41mm to 52mm like Ray. I leave it on at all times. I use it for filters and my Raynox Pro 1850 telephoto lens. www.2filter.com sells adapter tubes, filters, and lens.