Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 16, 2005, 4:03 PM   #1

Howdy,

I'm pretty new to digital photography and need a little help understanding something. Im planning on getting up really early this sunday to get a few shots of the sunrise with my Nikon D50 (kit lens + polariser filter). When i normally take shots, of sunset/sunrise everything always comes out darker.

I have been told that i should try bracketing the exposure. I interpret this as meaning I use the camera to automatically set the exposure of something in the frame eg the sky, then take a photo. then alter the appeture 1 stop higher take a shot then 1 stop lower and take a shot. Is this correct?

Also could someone please explain spot metering!

Apologies if these questions have already been asked before, i did search the forum but got way to many hits!

I look forward toi sharing my shots!
longside1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2005, 4:32 PM   #2

First, I would lose the polarizer filter. A polarizer lets in less light (up to 2 stops), which may explain your dark pics. Only use a polarizer in bright light to reduce reflections or make the sky bluer. For sunset/sunrise, a polarizer does not provide any real benefit. Set the camera to "p" mode and fire away.

Bracketing may help. Custom function #12 allows you to set auto bracketing. You can choose anywhere from 1/3 stop up to 2 stops. The camera will shoot 3 frames in a sequence. One at the the calculated exposure, 1 the selected amount under and one over.