Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 4, 2003, 9:12 PM   #1

Default airport scanning and digicams?

I'm new to these cameras (in fact, I have yet to buy my first!) but am cruious as I'll be taking it overseas; with all the advanced X-ray and electronic equipment both checked and carry on luggage is exposed to these days, are their any concerns for digicams or memory cards or any other stuff I should be concerned with?
mr. natural is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 4, 2003, 9:17 PM   #2

I just came back from a trip and the scanning systems did not affect the media at all.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2003, 8:46 AM   #3

xray units have no effect on the media or the camera. did 2 trips to europe in the past 2 wks. also don't forget that dose you and your stuff get for flying at high altitude for x amount of hours to where ever your going.

film on the other hand will be an issue with the new Envision units the TSA is using. hand search is advised.
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2003, 9:09 AM   #4

My camera (Nikon Coolpix 5000) has gone through at least 50 checkpoint/scans at airports and everything is still working great. There should be no problems with any camera.
Patarix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2003, 5:07 AM   #5

Hey Patarix you dont need an assistant do you
lipton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2003, 1:19 PM   #6

Not so sure about Microdrives and those body search wands though! Don't they work like metal detectors with relatively low frequency energised search coils?
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2003, 1:30 PM   #7
NHL

Vox

My 3.5" floppies has passed this test with flying color... The microdrive usually stayed in the camera and is scanned on the moving belt just like your laptop!
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2003, 1:35 PM   #8