Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 17, 2006, 1:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Does anyone know of a technical reason that Nikon, or any other manufacturer, does not provide split image focusing? I am getting a little older and manual focusing is becoming guess work. I've seen some third party screens, mostly for Cannon. Would hate to give up on Nikon for a reason like this.
dadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 22, 2006, 11:09 AM   #2
Moderator
 
Nagasaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 897
Default

No idea why they don'e include it other than just about all cameras are auto focus now and the autofocus is fast and accurate. You also get several selectable focusing areas so the subject doesn't need to be central when focusing.
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2006, 7:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,803
Default

I have been told that they can cause problems with the metering.

But I don't honestly know if that is true. I've used a split-screen in a Canon AE-1 and liked it a lot.

Some of the higher end Canon cameras can take alternate screens, but for some of them you need support in the camera for them... they have settings that adjust for the change in way the camera does exposure.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 9:10 AM   #4
DBB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,483
Default

dadams wrote:
Quote:
Does anyone know of a technical reason that Nikon, or any other manufacturer, does not provide split image focusing? I am getting a little older and manual focusing is becoming guess work. I've seen some third party screens, mostly for Cannon. Would hate to give up on Nikon for a reason like this.
I've also read that there are technical reasons for this.

Do you have a link for those third parties who make this screen for Canon cameras? If they can do it for Canon, no doubt they could do it for Nikon.

As to the question of their usefullness and the accuracy of auto-focus - One need only try to shoot in heavy brush to find that everything but your target gets focused on...:G

So I would also be interested, even though my eyes are holding up...

Dave
DBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 9:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Here's a link to a third-party solution for the D70:

http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Ni...cat_nikon.html

They do note that the metering of the camera can be thrown off by up to 2/3 of a stop.
thebac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 12:10 PM   #6
DBB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,483
Default

Much thanks! Perhaps they'll come out with one for the D2x. It's not a big deal to change these screens - so if I don't like it, I can put the original back.

Dave
DBB is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:04 AM.