Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 30, 2006, 1:29 AM   #1

Hi all,

I do alot of reading, but I am still a complete DSLR newbie. I have a Canon S2 IS and I really like it, but I've been considering a Digital Rebel XT. Basically what I want is a camera with the picture quality of a DSLR and the point and shoot ease of a regular digital camera. Am I correct in assuming I can do this with a Digital Rebel XT with a nice all purpose lens?

My question is this - how do I tell the optical zoom level of a lens from its "milimeter rating", for example, would the included 18-55mm included lens in the Rebel XT kit be equivellent of a, say, 10X optical zoom lens? if not,does such a lens exist to give megood close up capability and around a 6-10X optical zoom giving me essentially the same shooting versitility of my S2 IS but with the picture quality of a DSLR? I want to take a large variety of different pictures in high quality without lugging around lenses is what it comes down to.

Any help/suggestions would be very much appreciated,

Thanks,

Mark
Mark S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2006, 6:24 AM   #2

Mark,

The 10x factor that point and shoot cameras constantly market is not a very useful figure. In fact, somewhere there is a thread indicating how useless it really is. All it represents is the ratio of the maximum focal range divided by the minimum. So, a 200-600mm lens, 100-300mm, and 50-150 are all 3x lenses but they are completely different.