Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 19, 2003, 12:05 PM   #1

Default too many choices

I am in the market for a new digital camera nad need some advise. I am looking for a high quality small camera, pocketable. There are obviously tons of choices out there.

Here is my situation. I work in a hospital and will primarily be using the camera for work. My department will actually pay foir the camera, but it must be bought before the end of June. The budget is not set, but is probably up to about $800. However, I will also be able to use this for my own shots, so I will have other locals than the hospital.

I am looking for a small camera, with high resolution, ease of use, and reliability. Small size is imperative. Manual controls a big bonus, but not necessary. Video is a small bonus.

My list at this point is not small, but here it is, with my take on things..

Canon s45/s50-- great camera, maybe a bit too big?
s400- when available

Fuji F700, when available, I like the idea of the improved dynamic range. The lighting is terrible for pics in a hosptial (easily washed out).

Minolta F200 ??

Olympus C-50- seems great by specs, but i have seen some comments that worry me , and I saw one review that said shot to shot of 5 seconds.

Olympus stylus 300/400

Sony DSC P9- good size, ? quality
DSC-V1- great except maybe a bit too big.

I would apreciate any opinions.

Thanks in advance.

gordon
rglewisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2003, 12:32 PM   #2

I suspect that you will want to shoot close-ups of things like skin/wounds/... in fairly poor lighting conditions. For that, you really should have a camera that can use an external flash unit, in particular, one that has a ring flash available.

External flash is (in general) a contradiction to small size so you have to decide which of those features is more important.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2003, 2:11 PM   #3