Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 8, 2006, 11:16 PM   #1

Hello there fellas. Well i'm new to dslr, i had a panasonic fz5 and now im switching to a Nikon D50 i want to learn as much as i can about photo with a dslr entry level camera. My question is, what do you think is this camera compared to the canon digital rebel (not xt) and the second one is. Can i take the pic in the d50 from the lcd or can i only do it from the viewfinder?

Thnx in Advance
drprotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 8, 2006, 11:57 PM   #2

As far as I know, no DSLR on the market can use the LCD to compose images. They all do it through the view finder. There are several reasons for this, if you care, but lets say that technology hasn't overcome the issues that would make this possible.

Why not read Steve's review of the D50? I'm sure it could answer all the questions you've got and more. Most people haven't used both the Canon and the Nikon line so you'll almost certainly get a biased point of view (i.e. they've used one of them and therefor say its great. And to point out my bias, I own 2 Canon DSLRs.) But Steve has used both those and more.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_...nikon_d50.html

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 12:23 AM   #3

actually id like to know why can't u use the lcd :d if you can explain
Old Feb 9, 2006, 3:16 AM   #4