Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

View Poll Results: Is formal Photography School a requirement for "Professional Photographer"?
Yes, Absolutely 2 50.00%
No, Self taught can learn just as much as school. 1 25.00%
I don't know, I just like to answer polls. 1 25.00%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Old Feb 20, 2006, 1:56 PM   #1

I have been seriously persuing photography as a living when I retire from the military in about 4 years (if they will let me out). I am only a self taught photographer and I was curious if I should invest in some kind of photography school or not. There are so many resources available online and in books, I was wondering if formal school is even required these days.

I've been using an SLR since about 1992 and love to learn all I can about photography.

I included a poll to see what everyone thinks. Thanks for your time and all the knowledge that has been spread on this forum.

David Porter
headhunter66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2006, 9:20 PM   #2

Depends how much time you'll spend in school and how much it will cost.

You could always study part time or at night school.

terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2006, 1:26 AM   #3

headhunter...if you are asking if a degree or certification is required to deem oneself a "Professional Photographer' and you're going to freelance, i don't believe so because you should have some sort of portfolio to showyour abilities...

if you were going to work for a Newspaper or Magazine or other type of periodical,that might be a different thing...they may require some formal education per their HR requisites...

here's an example...you can buy Adobe CS2 Classroom in a Book and from there, as you abilities and experience grow, you can actually take a Certification test and in their (Adobes) use their Certification as a catylast for getting a raise, finding a job or promoting your expertise.