Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 28, 2003, 12:55 PM   #1

Default How come flash shoots twice?

Hello all,

I have been using my Nikon 2100 extensively and really have been enjoying it . My question is how come when I take a picture the camera seems to use the flash twice. A friend asked me why it does that and now it has peaked my interest.

Peace...

Shiggy
shiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 28, 2003, 12:58 PM   #2

some coolpix units will do this when the flash is set for anti-redeye
tealblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2003, 1:44 PM   #3

I have an Olympus and I know someone who has a Coolpix 2000, they both do the same thing even with the red eye turned off. Im no expert, but what I read was that they fire a first flash to set the white balance, then the second flash. I find this annoying sometimes especially taking pictutures of my cat, he is too quick, he squints every time I take a picture!
djkothbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2003, 1:58 PM   #4

djk,

Try setting the WB to "sunlight" instead of Auto WB...

It should be balanced properly for a flash shot, and maybe your flash won't go off twice (I'm not sure about that part).
rych26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2003, 2:35 PM   #5

Just so you know the buzzword, it's called preflash. The red-eye flash fires off a few flashes before the main one.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2003, 12:11 AM   #6

I need all the buzzwords I can get!

I'll play with my camera tomorrow, but if the redeye reduction is off, and it's not on Auto WB, will that kill the preflash, so his kitty won't squint?

I hate squinting cats...my cats usually just give me the finger...especially when I catch one of them where they know they aren't supposed to be. :lol:
rych26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2003, 6:28 AM   #7