Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 26, 2006, 4:31 PM   #1

Ok, so I am new to this digital camera thing. I took pics with my new camera last night and had it set to Large Superfine. I thought that would give me the highest resolution, but when I open the photos in Photoshop it says the photo is 10 x 14 and the resolution is only 180.

I don't need pics that large, but I want photos with at least 300 dpi. Can someone tell me how to get that?

Thanks!
jbjalways is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2006, 6:00 PM   #2

What camera are you using?
vwmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 6:38 PM   #3
Baz

The 180 DPI setting you see have no relation to the quality of the camera image. It is just a setting that can be changed in photo editing or printing software, so as to determine the output or print size. It has no bearing on the screen quality or size. This is determined by your monitor resolution.

The real measure of the camera resolution is the megapixels. i.e. pixels across x pixels down. The more the better.

DPI does have a bearing on a photo print size & quality. e.g. say your image is 2400 pixels wide. Using photo editing or printing software, if you select an 8" wide print, the resulting print dpi will be 300, which is excellent. Selecting a 12" print gives a 200dpi print, which is still accepable, but you dont want much less for a good print.

Dont worry about those dpi properties you see. They are not a function of camera resolution or quality.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2006, 6:41 PM   #4