Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 29, 2003, 1:52 PM   #1

Default Help

Just discovered this site. Recommended to me by a friend.

I want to get into digital photography.... and have no background or experience with this field whatsoever.

I am a competent photographer and have a fair amount of traditional equipment.... but I think the time has come for me to learn digital photography.

At the moment I do NOT own a digital camera so that is an area I want to learn something about. What camera to buy? How to learn to use one? Etc. and etc.

At the same time, however, I want to acquire skill and competency with the computer aspects of digital photography. I have a computer... have some basic skills with using it.... but have a lot to learn.

So I guess my first question for this group is: how do you recommend I get started? Are there classes to go to? Courses to take?

How should I begin?

Thanks to all who reply and help.

Al G.
alglanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 29, 2003, 2:09 PM   #2

Start at http://www.photocourse.com/ It's a free online "book" on the basics...you will find a lot of familiar things like shutter speed, f-stop, ISO, etc. Also check out the library for books on digital photography.

As for what camera you may want to start with, all depends on your abilities, whether you buy a point&shoot pocket, one with more advanced settings where you can override everything, or a dSLR.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2003, 7:10 PM   #3

I'd suggest first learning how to use a photo editor. One of the dirty secrets of digital is that you have to do your own "darkroom" work. Get a few rolls of your shots put onto a CD - that is fairly cheap when done when the film is processed.

Once you have figured out how to use a photo editor, you will have a much better idea of what you want in a digicam and you will be ready to use it. The prices will have come down as well.