Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 18, 2006, 11:52 AM   #1
Log

when reviewing sensitivity on cameras i found that several say things like "3200 with ISO boost"

help me out a little bit, im still learning, what does it mean by ISO boost? and if it says "3200 with ISO boost" does that mean that it can reach ISO settings of 3200?

your help would be appreciated. thanks
Log is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2006, 11:57 AM   #2

I don't know about other mfrs, but with Olympus, ISO boost basically means "we don't recommend your using the camera at this speed, so don't say we didn't warn you." It simply means you're raising the sensor gain to a place beyond what the mfr belives will produce best image quality. Yes, you can use ISO 3200, but you will experience more noise. However, there are so many good NR programs out there these days that the scary talk about noise is frequently overblown. I use ISO 1600 fairly frequently with the E-300 and find that noise is handled quite well either with the native NR in Silkypix, or with standalone programs like Neatimage.
YMMV

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2006, 11:58 AM   #3

I believe this refers to cameras that cheat to achieve high ISO by reducing resolution. Which camera?
David French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2006, 12:00 PM   #4
Administrator

Yes, you'll still have the equivalent of ISO 3200 if a model shows it's available.

Extracting an image from a sensor is a complex process.

For ISO speed increases (a way to make a camera more sensitive to light), you've got more than one way of accomplishing it. One is by amplifying the output of the signal generated by each photosite, prior to the analog to digital converter.

Another is to multiply the RGB values for each pixel, after the analog to digital conversion.