Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 19, 2006, 11:39 AM   #1

Sirs, I am not an expert, so please explain to me....

What is the difference between, say, zooming in on a distant subject with a 5MP camera that has a 10X optical zoom, and taking a photo of the same distant subject with a 8MP camera (3x zoom) and then enlarging/cropping it on the computer??

Would the finished products have the same clarity (resolution). I am confused at the relationship between zoom and higher MP.
Attached Images

arrowspace90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2006, 12:29 PM   #2

Checking on a couple of sample cameras I see that 5Mp is 2592 x 1944 and an 8MP camera is 3264 x 2448 so all things being equal a 2592 x 1944 crop from an 8Mp camaera will have the same detail as a 5Mp camera. That's not giving you anything near a 10x zoom from a 3x zoom camera although x times zooms are fairly meaningless until you know where they start and end. For example a 50 - 500 mm zoom is a 10x zoom so is a 20-200 but they're very different lenses.

Also as I said it depends on all things being equal not all lenses are the same quality so a 5Mp camera may give far better results than an 8Mp camera. The other issue is that when it comes to MP more isn't always better, crowding 8Mp onto the same size sensor as 5Mp sometimes the result is a poorer quality sensor.

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2006, 12:55 PM   #3

arrowspace90 wrote:
Quote:
Sirs, I am not an expert, so please explain to me....

What is the difference between, say, zooming in on a distant subject with a 5MP camera that has a 10X optical zoom, and taking a photo of the same distant subject with a 8MP camera (3x zoom) and then enlarging/cropping it on the computer??

Would the finished products have the same clarity (resolution). I am confused at the relationship between zoom and higher MP.