Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 27, 2006, 10:58 PM   #1

I really need help here guys on 2 things

1) I want to get a macro lens for my km7d before I go away on a trip in 7 weeks. How does the Sigma 50 f2.8 macro go. It has a 1:1 take and other than that I have little knowledge in this area. Suggestions please. What is the difference between my standard 35-70 mm tamron and a 50mm macro when you still seem to only get within 7 inches according to the specs on the Macro???? Help please!!

http://www.sigma-photo.com/lenses/le...sp?navigator=5

2) I have been told that the Bigma(Sigma) 50 - 500 mm lens is the go for what I need. Any comments here would be appreciated and I will be using it mainly for bird photography.

Help !!! Pretty please!! :sad:

Mountain Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 28, 2006, 3:55 AM   #2

What the macro lens does is allow you to get extremely close to the subject. The 50:500 lens is 1:5.2 which means that your smallest subject must be 5 times the size of the sensor. With 1:1 the subject and sensor can be the same size.

I use the Sigma 50mm on a Nikon D70 and I'm pleased with the results, sample attached.

The lens is capable of focusing out to infinity so it also makes a good general purpose lens.

However for bird photography you are more likely to be shooting from a distance so a telephoto lens or telephoto zoom is probably more useful.

I can't comment on the 50-500 zoom lens although fixed focal length lenses or zooms with a shorter range do tend to give better results. It tends to be a trade off between convienience and quality. That is not to say that the 50-500 zoom will not give perfectly acceptable results.

Ken
Attached Images

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 4:52 AM   #3

Thank you so very much for helping me with something that I know very little about in the ways of macro.