Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 7, 2003, 10:54 PM   #1

Default Digicam for sports shots???

Hi. I've been poking around the forum but haven't had much luck in finding clues or answers to a particular question of mine. One of the things I'd like to shoot with my future digicam is sports (namely soccer, football, and muay Thai [kickboxing] & other martial arts). From what I've gathered (things I've read and info I've gotten from talking to some people from a local Wolf Camera) there isn't really a good digital camera for action shots. Is this true and am I just wasting my time on this?

I figured some of the things I was looking for in a digicam would help with action shots: good zoom (4x +), small f-stop, hotshoe, add-on lens capability, and AF-assist. Am I wrong to think this (I'm still a rookie)?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

- Jeff
mofo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 8, 2003, 8:05 AM   #2

The problem is shutter lag, from the time you press the sutter button to when the camera takes the picture. You can reduce that time on better cameras with using manual focus and other manual settings, but it's still not good enough.

You'd probably need a d(igital)SLR to capture high-speed action. Most people with consumer digicams complain about, "missing the action".
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2003, 8:54 AM   #3

mofo13

Your list of requirements aren't bad. I'd start with those.

Mike_PEAT is right, though. Beyond your list, shutter lag will be a serious problem. You need the shorted time between when you press the button and the picture is captured. In sports, the moments you want come very quickly and (in kickboxing) without warning. Unless you are very careful in picking you camera, you will be very frustrated.