Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 23, 2003, 1:58 PM   #1

Default Good (Decent) Camera for Interior shots

I am a property manager and need a digital camera for interior shots of apartments. I need to shoot rooms and conditions of walls etc. in the event of property damage. Most prints would be 5x7 with occassional 8x10's.

My guess is that the equivalent of a 28mm lens (or less?) wouuld be best, but I don't know where to start looking. Everything that I have checked out so far starts with the equivalent of 38mm or so.

As an aside, when I travel, I love to take landscapes and I am tempted by the optical zooms of 8x or so. I am extremely comfortable with a 85 to 200 mm zoom on my SLR, but don't like the bulky size. Granted, the optical zoom is on my wish list and isn't necessary for my professional needs, but ...

Thanks for the help.

Rick Talcott
ricktalcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2003, 6:09 PM   #2

for indoor use, i'd go with the canon a70, its 3mp and has af assist. As for wide angle, the a70 can use a wideangle add-on lense with adapter which should suit your needs. For zoom, the a70 is capable of taking add-on lenses so you can use telephoto lenses on your camera if you ever want to.
ardvark50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2003, 6:21 PM   #3

Think about using an external flash. With add on wide angle adaptor lenses, a puny internal flash will struggle on angle and light output, With most wide angle adaptor lenses you will get some 'barrel distortion' on vertical edges (slightly curved inwards). So if that worries you, you may need to settle for a bit less than the wide ange will do.

On very large wall areas, you could learn to take 3 or 4 shots on a tripod and 'zip' them together in software. Wouldn't it be handy if you could mount a digicam on a tripod in the centre of a room and it motored itself round, taking flash shots totalling 360 degrees!