Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 9, 2002, 11:45 AM   #1

Default little pixels better than big ones?

big pixels vs little pixels:

Call me skeptical!

I have been trying to decide between the a DLR and the Nikon 5700. I see many issues, but finally decided to avoid dSLRs until they either standardize on a physical chip size of produce a full frame 35mm look alike.

However, as I looked into the issue, I began to wonder if there is not some hype out there about existing dSLRs. I am a scientist and, by training skeptical.

For example, the Nikon rep tells me that the D100 is inherently sharper than the 5700 because the chip is larger in the D100.

This does not make sense to me.

any good quality lens should resolve well beyond the physical pixel size at the image plane of either camera. Putting the pixels closer together should, I think, only mean losing resolution IF the circle of confusion of the optics is bigger than the the size of the pixels.

Moreover, assuming that the lens is designed to provide optimal sharpness at its designed image size on the film plane, then, as we all know using only PART of the image, e.g. as in digital zoom, means LOSS of resolution power of the lens! BUT, this is exactly what is done in a D-SLR since the chip covers only part of the image plane.

Frankly, all other things being equal (and I am sure there are other considerations) the 5700 should, IMO give a higher resolution than the D100!

The ideal dSLR may be one built around a SMALL chip! Imagine an SLR the size of the 5700 or even the size of the Oly 20!
Steves is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2002, 12:07 PM   #2

This should answer your question.

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/dq.htm

[Edited on 7-10-2002 by steve]
Tom C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2002, 12:51 PM   #3

"any good quality lens should resolve well beyond the physical pixel size at the image plane of either camera"