Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 25, 2006, 12:22 PM   #1

I have a brand new Canon Rebel XT and am taking it on vacation with me. We're headed to Sea World as one of our stops. Do you have any suggestions on how to photograph inside their exhibits? I'm thinking it will probably be like walking up to a glass aquarium and I'd like to get some pics of my kids looking at animals. Novice here -- layman's terminology would be very helpful to me.

Thanks!
Kynziekates mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 25, 2006, 3:33 PM   #2

If the exhibit is indoors, it will be challenging. I will assume you do NOT have an external flash capable of bouncing (if you do, please say so as that can help).

You have 2 challenges: low light and reflection off the glass/plastic.

Reflection off glass: this can be solved with a circular polarizer filter (CP). It's a filter that goes on the front of the lens and you turn it. It has two benefits: first for your case it cuts down on reflections. The other benefit is when it is used outdoors on a sunny day it will deepen the blue of the sky and add more contrast & punch to the clouds. There are several threads in the forums here on how to use a CP. Unfortunately is is also like putting sunglasses on your lens - it lets in less light so shooting indoors becomes more troublesome.