Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 31, 2006, 5:41 PM   #1

Hi there.

I have been trying to get monitor colors on my new canon i9950 without much luck. I use coorvision colorplus to calibrate my monitor and i am wondering if the ambient light is intervening with the calibration process. My monitor is suited under a 2x36Watt fluorecent lamp. I usually edit my photos under these lighting conditions. Is it bettter to calibrate the monitor in total darkness?
alicov is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2006, 9:40 PM   #2

No, you should calibrate in the environment that you will use the monitor.
Are you using an LCD or CRT? I know that with a CRT you should let it warm up a bit before calibrating. The monitor's image changes over the first 1/2 hour or so.

Do you have a profile for the paper you're using, made specifically for that printer? This is also a must.

I have no experience with the Coorvision colorplus system. does it involve a hardware device to profile with? I only recommend systems that use hardware components.

What software are you printing from? Are you soft-proofing your images? That is a must for high quality results.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2006, 11:11 AM   #3

thanks for your reply. I have a sony 17'' LCD. i print usingPS CS2. I use original canon profiles with the canon paper. I am sure that my color managment setting in PS are correct. but still the colors dont match the screen. the colors are less saturated. especially reds which are very washed out. Soft proofing doesnt make a difference. I was thinking if the lights in the room are interfering with montor calibration. Colorplus is a hardware monitor device.
Old Jun 1, 2006, 1:11 PM   #4