Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 25, 2006, 3:14 AM   #1

Sorry for the truncated heading. I'm new to this forum and thus not familiar with the posting procedure. I went back to try and fix it, but evidently you can't edit the title portion once you post it. The title was supposed to read:

"A book called, 'Understanding Exposure.' Have you read it?"

Moving on...

I'm new to photography.

And the book called "Understanding Exposure" gets alot of great reviews.

But I have to wonder if you can use that book for digital photography. And I'm wondering that because of how the book is described:

"Drawing on 30-plus years of experience taking pictures,theauthorprovides a practical guide covering 'the photographic triangle'—the interrelationship between aperture, shutter speed, and film—that is at the heart of every exposure."

Note the part that says "the interrelationship between aperture, shutter speed, and film...."

With a heavy emphasis on "film".

And that's why I'm wondering if you're a partial dummy with digital photography like I am if his lessons on shutter speed and aperture would still apply to digital even though he's using film to teach with.

Has anyone read this book and if so, do you think you can applythe authorslessons to digital cameras?

RanchDressing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2006, 8:17 AM   #2

Photography is still photography. Today the 'film' is a silicon chip, instead of celuloid, but all the principals of exposure still apply.

The relationships of light, shutter speed, aperature and ISO have not changed and still apply.

The author may discuss the characteristics of a particular film (speed or brand) vs another and that would not necessarily apply, but most references to film with different ISO would. The difference is that to change ISO using film, one had to physically change the film, while with digital, one simply changes the ISO setting on the camera.