Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 30, 2006, 4:24 AM   #1

I'm looking to buy a book that will teach me photography. I have looked at a few, but it's difficult to tell if it's good or not. A lot of the books seem to fall between two posts, either they are far too simple ( how to print photos and what does jpg mean ) or far too complex ( bogged down by dry incomprehensible mumbo jumbo ). So I would like a book that goes into depth and explains the complex nitty gritty without being overwhelming or too dry. Hopefully it would also have sections on DSLR and their usage because i'm new to the DSLR world. Can anybody recommend me a good book? I'll be taking a trip to the book shop in a day or two.
Blueberry Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2006, 1:12 PM   #2

I can't give perfect advice, but here ya go.

Very little is different between a DSLR and an SLR. So don't worry as much about that difference. The biggest difference is that ISO is now a exposure control like aperture and shutter are.

National Geographic produced a series of books about photography. Most picked a specific topic (portrait, wildlife, landscape,...) but at least one was a "basics" book. I've heard good things about those books, so you might want to check if a local library has them. They will be out of date now, so talk of which film is better won't apply.

But much of photography is the same with digital or film. How you frame the shot, how you deal with exposure, what depth of field is... all of that is just the same.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2006, 3:05 PM   #3

Tom Ang has written some good books about digital photography. If you do a search under his name at Amazon you'll have a choice of several of his books.

Bryan Peterson has written some good books too. Again, search Amazon - you'll get several choices. Understanding Exposure is great for film or digital.