Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 1, 2006, 8:41 PM   #1

I would like to hear a variety of opinions on your experiences with various ways you have enhanced your photographic skills - especially those of you who work in other fields full time.

The New York Institute of Photography is one such program.

What approaches to learning or improving your photographic skills, generally, and digital photography specifically, have you all experienced?

Of course, there are a number of methods we all use:
  1. Self-taught, trial and error - just doing it - reading books and mags and web sites. [/*]
  2. Photography workshops, 1-day 1-week, as opportunities and $$$ permit. Which of these have been most worthwhile? [/*]
  3. Web-based courses. What's out there? Which ones have you used? Which ones are most worthwhile?[/*]
Are there otherlearning approaches?

gfmucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 1, 2006, 9:11 PM   #2

I have taken several non credit courses at a local community college. Some were very good, others not as good, but I have come away from all learning something. They are very cheap also, some are 6 nights some are 8hour saturday classes and some are 4 nights. the cost ranged from $22 to $84. I would love to go to one of the workshops I see advertised, but there are noneoffered in my area.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2006, 9:13 PM   #3

gfmucci wrote:
Quote:
I would like to hear a variety of opinions on your experiences with various ways you have enhanced your photographic skills - especially those of you who work in other fields full time.

The New York Institute of Photography is one such program.

What approaches to learning or improving your photographic skills, generally, and digital photography specifically, have you all experienced?

Of course, there are a number of methods we all use:
  1. Quote: