Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 3, 2006, 6:40 PM   #1

I'm relatively new to digital photography and would like to back up the images I currently have on my hard drive to DVDs.(I havethe Roxio Easy CD Creator 5 basic that came with my Dell.) Some people have said not to use the DVD-RW format for storage because it's often not compatible with all computers. However, I'd preferto use the RW format because I like the idea of being able to move files around once I've burned them. So . . . . is it safe/advisable to use the RW format? I understand it may be apersonal preference, but I wouldlove to hear whatyou digital veteransthink.

THANKS!!
4eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2006, 7:25 PM   #2

I personally do not bother with the RWs ... DVD+/-R are now very inexpensive and hold a lot. I archive my shots on DVDs, mess around with them on the computer and my external hard drive dedicated to photos, then rearchive on a new DVD or just add a new (named by date) folder onto one that is not yet sufficientlyfull. That way I ultimately retain a full backup across several DVDs.

Additionally, by their nature RWs are erasable ... accidently leave one exposed in, for example,a HOT, bright car next to a regular R and guess which oneloses datafirst. IMHO and, indeed,personal preference ...
hgernhardtjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2006, 8:46 PM   #3

Thanks for sharing -- you make a strong case for not using the RW format. I'll be interested to seeif others are in agreement with you. In either case, the next step will be figuring out how to burn DVDs using my basic Easy CD Creator . . .

Thanks again.
Old Aug 11, 2006, 8:38 PM   #4

I am facing much the same situation you are so I would like to comment. First, we have around 10 GB offamily/personal digital pictures that have to be archived. We do the organizing on the internal hard drive before burning them to DVD.