Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 21, 2006, 1:21 AM   #1

Hello all,

I'm a real novice photographer and this is my first post on this forum. I recently bought the 8MP Olympus SP-350 and I was wondering if anyone could explain to me what are these lense characteristics for my camera 8.0 - 24.0 mm and 1:2.8 - 4.9 .

The first one, 8.0 - 24.0 mm,has to do with the 3x ZOOM???What are this "mm" measuring?

The second one, 1:2.8 - 4.9, I'm not surewhat it is. I guess it has to do with the aperture range of the lense, butacording to the specifications in the instruction manual the aperture value isf2.8 - f8.0.

...and finally are these charateristics on my camera good? What is better 8.0 - 24.0 mm or 34 -102 mm like my old HP 720 Photosmart? The smaller the mm the better?

The same for the other thing. What is better 1:2.8 - 4.9 or 2.6 - 4.5?

Thank you very much in advance.

Sop.
sopas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 21, 2006, 4:59 AM   #2

8-24mm refers to the actual focal length of your lens. At it's widest angle it is an 8mm lens and at it's 'most zoomed' it is 24mm. The angle of view the lens gives depends on the sensor size and these measurements probably give an equivalent of a 34-102mm lens on a 35mm film camera. If your HP photosmart was a digital camera then it is very unlikely that it had a 34-102mm lens. It probably had a very similiar lens to the one on your new camera, one that gave a 35mm equivalent of 34-102. Larger numbers are better as they represent larger lenses that capture more light. However, you then need a larger camera for the larger lenses. This is one of the things that make dslrs and high-end point and shoot cameras better - they let more light in and have a greater surface area of sensor to capture it on. The downside is they are bigger, heavier and more expensive.