Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 22, 2006, 11:21 PM   #1

Hi,

I have been debating between the sony w100 and the canon SD line ofcompact digital cameras. The thing keeping me from the canon line is the lack of manual focus where you can set the focus to infinity.

I am fairly new to photography and here is where I need expert advice... I often find myselftaking pictures through windows and I assumed that the auto focus would focus on the window instead of what was outside unless you manually set the focus to infinity. Is my thinking correct, or not? I am not knowlegable in how auto focus works and if this is a problem... all the cameras I've had before had manual focus controls.

Set me straight and maybe I can consider the small canons again..

Thanks,

mtugrad
Battle Creek, MI
mtugrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 22, 2006, 11:30 PM   #2

mtugrad wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

I have been debating between the sony w100 and the canon SD line ofcompact digital cameras. The thing keeping me from the canon line is the lack of manual focus where you can set the focus to infinity.

I am fairly new to photography and here is where I need expert advice... I often find myselftaking pictures through windows and I assumed that the auto focus would focus on the window instead of what was outside unless you manually set the focus to infinity. Is my thinking correct, or not? I am not knowlegable in how auto focus works and if this is a problem... all the cameras I've had before had manual focus controls.