Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:46 AM   #1

Can you explain why a video cam has or can have such a far longer zoom
than a still camera? I'm not technically knowledgable as you might assume
from this question. Sorry if it's elementary or if comparing apples to melons (in
season)! Thanks.
picsgalore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:53 AM   #2

Its because the video cam has such as tiny sensor, the "crop" factor kicks in and enables a tiny focal length lens to act as if it had the same field of view of a much larger lens.

As an example, my camera has a 1/2.5" sensor ( 5.76mm x 4.29mm) and the lens has a focal length of 6-72mm, but due to the small sensor acts as a 36-432mm length lens, focal length multiplier x6.

The sensor on a video cam is even smaller thus has an even larger crop factor (focal length multiplier) eg some vidcams have a minute sensor 1/6" thats about 2.15mm x 1.61mm !
Sintares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2006, 2:00 AM   #3

Sintares,

Thanks for response. I don't really grasp or understand all that info and
explanation but I'll work on it!

Can't they put the same size sensor in still cams? With same result?

Thank you kindly.

Old Aug 31, 2006, 2:11 AM   #4

See

http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glos...r_sizes_01.htm

http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glos...tiplier_01.htm

The smaller the sensor the bigger the focal length multiplier so the smaller the lens can be and yet give the same field of view of a much larger lens.

Yet the smaller the sensor, the lower the quality of the final image, the more noise the sensor suffers, the less light each photosite embedded into the sensor can take in etc. Which is why even a modern superzoom (non dslr) camera with a small sensor struggles compared to the large sensors used in dslrs.