Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > HDR

Old Jan 12, 2010, 8:00 AM   #1

Default Halo-Matix Tone Map on Neversink Valley

I mostly use Dynamic Photo HDR's (DPHDR) "Eye-Catching" tone map because I think it's closer to reality (with the proper slider adjustments as per Walter S) and allows more room for adjustments in Photoshop Elements (PSE) compared to the other tone maps. The "Eye-Catching" tone map is what I taught my wife to use most often (to the point of telling her not to bother with the other tone maps) because of these two reasons.

But last night I started playing around with DPHDR's "Halo-Matix" tone map. I applied it on pictures I took with my wife at the Neversink Valley Museum in Cuddebackville, NY this past weekend. I think I was able to slide down the controls to eliminate most of the "halo" effect which I remember reading here can be annoying to some. I also think the Halo-Matix tone map has the potential for sharper wood grain, tree branches, glass reflections, etc., compared to the other tone maps. My feeling is the Halo-Matix tone map is better suited for more "artsy" output bordering on the surreal as opposed to realism.

I'd very much appreciate knowing what you think. I'd like to introduce the Halo-Matix tone map to my wife, too. Thank you for looking!

#1.

#2.

#3.

#4.

#5.

#6.

#7.

#8.

#9.

#10.

#11.

Last edited by vvcarpio; Jan 12, 2010 at 8:08 AM. Reason: Added 4 more images.
vvcarpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2010, 9:33 AM   #2