Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > HDR

Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:03 AM   #1

Default DPHDR's Halo-Matix on NYC Street

I wanted to see if I can duplicate Photomatix's "Grunge" tone map using Dynamic Photo HDR because I think "Grunge" is its biggest draw (at least to me). I think DPHDR's "Halo-Matix" tone map comes closest. All 3 images were sharpened using PSE.

#1. Photomatix's "Grunge" tone map using default values.

#2. DPHDR's "Halo-Matix" tone map with Saturation = 0 and Halo = 0.

#3. Middle exposure of 3-bracket shot.

Anyway I just wanted to show the results of my experiment which is, DPHDR does not limit you to real-looking images -- you can also create unrealistic (noveau?) images if you want that capability (which you can then "photoshop" to deviate further from reality). Also please keep in mind that this is just one type of image using one type of tone map and so is hardly enough for making a decision between the two. I'm no expert in either but I hope you find this helpful.

Last edited by vvcarpio; Jan 17, 2010 at 6:44 AM. Reason: Removed watermark on #1.
vvcarpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:19 AM   #2

I like the building texture of the first shot and the balance of the image in the 3rd shot. Why the watermark in your Photomatix version?
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 11:01 AM   #3

Thanks, Bynx. I was using a second PC (laptop) this morning. I'll run it again without the watermark but it would be sometime late in the day (more likely night). My wife and I are going out for another "photo-trip". NYC has beautiful weather today -- all sun and 40s.
Old Jan 16, 2010, 12:40 PM   #4

Default Grunge?

Ha-Ha!

I am at loss here. Please advise on what "Grunge" means. If picture # 1 is "Grunge" then the whole thing sound negative to me. To be honest, vvcarpio, both of the HDR's look terrible. # 2 maybe worst because it is all flat.