Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > HDR

Old Jan 24, 2010, 12:59 AM   #1

Default psuedo HDR in jpeg?

Hi everyone,
I am just getting into photography, and i got my first camera about a week ago (canon powershot SX20 IS). I am playing around with different types of photography to see which i really like. Last week, i started with macro. Now i am testing HDR.

My question regarding HDR photos is 'can i create a pseudo hdr image using jpeg using the photomatix software?' I have not yet found a way to do so. The reason i ask is because my canon shoots at 1 fps which is the fastest rate on this camera. (thats really slow), and if i want to take pictures of waves, or fall foliage, or a car, I want to be able to take just one pic, and then edit that like an hdr with tone mapping.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
-Eric
ewheeler20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2010, 1:47 AM   #2

you need to shoot in raw to do a psuedo in photomatix however you can do a one shot jpeg in dynamic photo hdr hope this helps

http://www.mediachance.com/hdri/index.html

one shot jpeg with dynamic hdr

Last edited by simple; Jan 24, 2010 at 2:57 AM.
simple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 6:17 AM   #3

You can turn any jpeg into a 32 bit file in Photoshop and open it in Photomatix. Not sure if the results are what you are after.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 10:06 AM   #4

darn. I have been trying to decide to buy either photomatix and DPHDR. I have been using the free trials of both. I like photomatix better, but my camera cant take pictures in RAW. (stupid, right?).
Photomatix is easier to use, and has more functions, but DPHDR is like half as pricey.

hmmm.

Does anyone have any opinions on this? Or can direct me to a thread that does?
Old Jan 24, 2010, 10:24 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewheeler20 View Post
....Does anyone have any opinions on this? Or can direct me to a thread that does?