Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > HDR

Old Aug 6, 2011, 8:52 PM   #1

Default HDR question

I'm a total newbie at photography but I'm mesmerized by HDR techniques. I have a Sony A200 and it appears that my camera will only bracket up to .7 f stops. Is that enough? Thanks in advance.
Outhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 6, 2011, 9:09 PM   #2

When you bracket your shots just do it manually. Find your optimum setting for the lighting situation then click back until you are underexposed enough then start shooting an fstop equivalent in shutter speed until you have all your shots.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:14 AM   #3

It partly depends on the scene. If your scene isn't that much beyond your sensor's capability to capture detail in the darks and lights, then having .7 between shots would be sufficient. If the scene is really extremely contrasty, then it could easily be not enough. The way Bynx suggested works well regardless of the situation. If you have the camera mounted on a tripod, check the extreme shots both under and over to make sure you have sufficent detail in the darks and lights. While I can hand-hold the camera while it does one-touch exposure bracketing, if I have to change the settings myself I tend to move the camera too much between frames (others have more success with it than I do) for the software to properly line up the frames. A tripod, even with auto exposure bracketing, gives better results.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 4:18 PM   #4