Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Nov 14, 2006, 6:58 AM   #1

Looking for a camcorder for my wife. She likes to take pictures, but doen't want to do much more than push a button. So don't need alot of maual features, just good quality video and want it to be very compatible with her powerbook as she will use Apple software for editing. I was originally interested in the models with built in harddrives, but reading more it seems the format they save in is not condusive to editing. I am a still photographer, and know very little about camcorders. It will be a Christmas present, so my budget is fairly open as she is getting me the 80-400VR I have been lusting after.
Jim1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2006, 2:42 PM   #2

How about a regular MiniDV? They are cheap, easy to use and edit. They should be compatible with a Mac as it uses the firewire interface and editing with DV video could be done something like iMovie. Of course, I don't own a Mac myself so people are free to correct me if I am wrong.

rgvcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2006, 2:32 PM   #3

MiniDV seems to be the most compatible, but which one? Any good review sites as to who makes the best? Hope this is the correct forumn for this and don't want to start a war like Canon vs Nikon, I love my Nikon, by the way. I just haven't a clue on camcorders and looking for some guidance.
Jim1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2006, 4:07 PM   #4

This is really a forum for hybrid memory cardcamcorders and as such we don't have a particular brand that is a favorite here although individuals may have their preference of course.