Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 14, 2007, 8:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,084
Default

I swapped my PVR for an MPVR (Firmware: 1707) courtesy of Aiptek. I have been very busy, so only just got a chance this evening to nip outside and take a quick video of my neighbours house to test it, just as I did with my PVR.

First here is the original PVR house test:

http://media.putfile.com/PVR3104

and now here is the new MPVR test:

http://media.putfile.com/Aiptek-MPVR

As you can see, there is no distortion on the brickwork, like there is on the PVR. There is still a moire effect on the vent, but you are always going to get some moire effect with these devices.

It still doesn't pick up as much detail as the Sanyo though. The MPVR still suffers from 'blotchyness'

http://media.putfile.com/sanyo1

Putfile seems to be using flash video for newer video like youtube.com and it seems to take much longer to load which is not good. I may have to abandon this site now.
rgvcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2007, 4:43 AM   #2
Moderator
 
fishycomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC NY
Posts: 9,623
Default

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=AIPTEKINC


Now you have a place you can comment to

vidoe on no matter what hybrid today will act in mysterious ways, if these are not a sony or panasonic ccd or cmos then they'll be lesser quality.
fishycomics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 9:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,084
Default

So far, the MPVR seems to be a definite improvement on the PVR ie the video doesn't seem to have the 'ragged' look that was often a feature of videos from the PVR. The only problem seems to be that the MPVR seems to overexpose the video more in certain circumstances but I need to play with it more to confirm this. So far it looks the swap was worth it.
rgvcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 10:06 PM   #4
Moderator
 
fishycomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC NY
Posts: 9,623
Default

yes it is a better choice

we need to go out on our own to find this out

the 3 mb sensor seems to be better than a 5 meg one LOL

that is what I noticed right away
fishycomics is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:21 AM.