Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jan 11, 2008, 10:30 AM   #1

I'm a sports photographer but have never shot any video before. I've decided it'd be fun to catch some video footage of the stuff I shoot and am looking for the right cam to do this. I also want to use it to do some product reviews for my website and get the off day skiing on there.

Pretty much decided it has to take an SD card (no way am I using tapes!) - so that seems to narrow my choice down to Sanyo or Aiptek.

I want to pay as little as possible while getting something worth having. If the improvements are really worth it, I'll up the budget.

I know I'm asking a lot - but am prepared to take the hit in quality in exchange for pocket size ease - but don't want to spend on something not worth having!

Sanyo
I can't decide if the CG65 is enough or if I'd prefer the HD2. I'm mainly drawn to the HD2 so I can easily add a wide angle lens apator. Is the HD2 worth the 'upgrade'?

Aiptek
The A-HD looks quite interesting but doesn't appear to have a functional AV-in for bullet cams in Europe. Not sure if this is true, I've read conflicting stories!

The best bet for the A-HD looks like picking one up from the US as it's sooooo much cheaper over there than here anyway.

Here's the big decision - I also want to be able to helmet cam some bike tracks. The Aiptek looks like the only one with an AV in.

So, basically, my choice so far looks like:
- Sanyo HD2 with wide angle convertor and a seperate helmet cam (bullet cam and archos?)
or
- Aiptek and helmet cam

Any thoughts or help apprecaited!

gravity-slave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2008, 10:56 AM   #2