Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Mar 13, 2008, 3:41 AM   #1

Hi, I don't currently own any digital camcorder, I wasn't really in the market for one but I saw the Aiptek iCam 2.4" at Best Buy, on sale for $89 plus I have a $25 giftcard from Christmas, so it would only cost me $64. So I started looking for some online reviews. I can't find much references to this model, maybe it goes by another name?

Anyways, the only reason I'm considering one is because I can get one so cheap ($64). I realize this is not a top-of-the-line unit, but then I'm really not in the market for something that costs a few hundred dollars.

My family is going on a Caribbean cruise in April, and I thought this might be a fun device to take along. I have NO experience at all with these new hybrid cams. But from what I read about other models, some generally have issues with low light situations, so I'm guessing it's not something that would replace my current 8mm camcorder. This model also only has 4x digital zoom (no optical), which may or may not be a problem. That's why I'm turning to you knowledgable people for your opinions.

Bottom line, is the Aiptek iCam 2.4 worth buying? I don't expect a professional camera, but I don't want a 'toy' either. I've looked hard for some online video samples, and all I can find are YouTube videos which of course are very low resolution. I would LOVE to see at least one 640x480 or 720x480 video clip in it's original resolution. Now, how bad is the low light capture? How bad is the digital zoom? How about the audio quality? Does the still camera mode take good pictures?

Thanks again for any info you can give me.

DaveNetMan
DaveNetMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 13, 2008, 4:35 AM   #2

Dave .Welcome. letAdric0222 answer he owns one or the IS-DV2. they are the same less a swival.