Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jun 10, 2008, 7:52 PM   #1

Guys, I'm very new to video editing software and after many hours of searching and reading, I'm still not getting a few things. I've got the A-HD+ which makes .mov h.264 video files. VideoLAN will play the files perfectly on my machine, but I want to edit the files. I've read that I can convertthem to .avi with MP4CAM2AVI and then use Windows Movie Maker, but I'm having problems making it work. I've converted one file to .avi, but WMP will not play it, and WMM will not play it. I've also read about FFDSHOW, but I don't understand what I'm supposed to do with it.

Can someone walk me through the process of changing the .mov file to .avi and making it playable in WMP and WMM?

Also, one question about the download page for MP4CAM2AVI. There are two different things there. What is the "source code" and what do I need to do with it? I've got the first thing downloaded and I can open the program and I was able to convert the .MOV file. I have the "source code" unziped to a different folder, but I don't know what it's for.

http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...roup_id=123082
KurtC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2008, 10:40 PM   #2

To decode (play) the Aiptek HD .MOV format files, you need an H.264 decoder on your computer.

To find out if such a decoder is working properly on your computer, you might download the free Microsoft "GraphEdit" program.

I use it all the time.

You just double click on the GraphEdit icon, after you download the program.

Then you should see the GraphEdit interface, which includes a big empty window where you drag and drop your Aiptek .MOV file.

After you drag and drop your Aiptek .MOV file into the window, you should see a rectangle, which symbolizes your Aiptek file.

From the rectangle, you should see a flow chart.