Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jun 30, 2008, 10:47 AM   #1

How many of you stream your hybrid HD video directly from a "streaming device" to your high definition TV?

I'm using an Apple TV, which can only stream up to 720/24p or 960 x 540 @ 30p.

But I see there are other streaming devices -- such as the DVICO -- that can stream raw AVCHD files and many other types of files:

http://crave.cnet.com/8301-1_105-9977050-1.html

Anybody got one of these? Does it stream your video smoothly? No hiccups?

Private Idaho
Private Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2008, 1:01 PM   #2

There are several of these boxes on the market. The local Fry's has an endcap of several different brands and models. I've been using a AVeL Linkplayer2 since January of 2005. It doesn't handle AVCHD and Sigma Graphics who provided the chip set took some flack for that but it does stream MPEG-2 HD streams, MPEG-4 non-AVC streams, DivX and WMV. In fact Magnolia Films (HDNET) sold some movies for a while that would play on the player as well as the Buffalo player that was similar. JVC also had a version of the model.

The extra bonus was that it upscaled DVDs over component until about the 6th firmware revision (which I of coruse didn't install). The box came with a server you could install on your Windows, Mac or Linux machine to access video, pictures or music. It's still working fine but I kick myself for not replacing the loader with the Lite-On loader that was more fault tolerant that others replaced theirs with. Unfortunately that loader is no longer available. The IO-DATA crew was good at making networking players but a little weak in the DVD player department and the player lacked features I was used to on my other players. A funny thing is that BluRay and HD-DVD also both seem to have problems if even a finger print is on the disk.

hdguy is offline   Reply With Quote