Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Nov 10, 2008, 11:49 AM   #1

Hey friends, I'm a newbie on here, been checkin out this forum pretty religiously over last couple days, some awesome info. Anyways, after finding a HD cam on amazon.co.uk other day called "Speed HD-8Z 1080P" I needed to get some info on it.

Turns out it is basically the DXG-596V, but with just a different badge. It finally arrived this morning, and I am indeed very impressed with it overall. But I have some questions, which I'm hoping one of you guys might be able to answer for me.

1.) Does the higher class SDHC improve overall bit rates? - Annoyingly the one that came provided with camera, was an 8GB, but only class 4. So I ordered the following today - SanDisk SDHC 8GB Video HD Ultra Class 6, hoping that it will not only be quicker, but also improve data rates/picture quality.

2.) Does anyone use Sony Vegas 7 as their editing program? I happened to preview a small clip in it earlier today at 1080P, but it only read it as 1080i (1440, not 1920) Is there a way of importing the clips at full 1080P to edit, without also losing quality/recompressing?

3.) Having trouble with the firmware update, it's just not letting me drop the BIN file into memory card folder. Maybe I'm doin somethin stupid, it just says that memory card is protected, when it's unlocked. Ive read on here that some others have suffered same problems.

4.) Does the firmware update, eliminate audio problem or is that forever going to be an issue? Noisy zoom I'm finding. But to be fair, I hae a number of MD recorders, that I plan to use with my mics from now on with every vid project, so if it cant be fixed, it's not the end, as long as I can use it as guide track for seperatly recorded (and hopefully superior!) audio recordings.