Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Nov 25, 2008, 6:07 PM   #1

I recently bought a Jazz Elite hdv188 and a SVP T-200 camera. I had planned to compare the two, then keep the one I liked best and sell or give away the other. I was leaning toward selling the T-200, but it ended up dying after recording only a few minutes of video.

I wasn't too disappointed since I preferred the quality and performance of the Jazz. But I've discovered the video output of the Jazz is not as user friendly. I'm new to video, but as I understand it, the Jazz encodes with H264 and 30fps. The few videos I got from the T-200 were encoded with XVID at 20fps.

Unfortunately, my PC (P4 3.06ghz with 2Gig RAM) does not handle the H264 video very well. I've tried VLC, Media Player with ffdshow, and MPC with CoreAVC. The 1280 videos skip and stutter, and even the 720 videos have audio sync issues.

In addition, the H264 videos crash my editors like Ulead Videostudio and Movie Maker, and they don't seem to work with Adobe Premiere.

I don't have these issues with the videos from the T-200.

Can anyone help? If my system can't handle the H264 videos, what's the best way to convert the to a format I can use?

TIA
Great Lakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2008, 7:04 PM   #2

your computer is plenty fast to decode 1280x720p, even at 60fps
i'm on a mac with lower specs and can watch 30fps 1080p, so i'm not sure what the issue is

maybe try closing other applications
or, do some maintenance?
or get a mac
kiyoshi_music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 7:48 PM   #3

kiyoshi_music wrote:
Quote:
your computer is plenty fast to decode 1280x720p, even at 60fps
That's what I thought too. But it doesn't handle these files well at all. Even Windows Explorer chokes and runs the CPU to 100% when I open the folder where the files are stored.

It only happens with the videos from the Jazz HDV188.