Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Aug 20, 2010, 1:44 PM   #1151

So, I visited my local Best Buy and plugged the camera into several "new" computers -desktops and laptops. You are correct. The regular video clips played smoothly...no issues. The only choppy video was playing an HD clip. Techs said it will always be choppy as the HD files are too big for the usb buffering with the USB cable that is part of the camera.

So, I suppose the camera works properly but my number one issue is the labelling by Kodak of the minimum specs. My desktop 100% meets all the minimum specs but it is obviously not enough to play the video via USB from the camera directly. This fact really bothers me. And it is one hell of an incovenience to always have to copy to harddrive to watch with no buffer issues.

All understood and solved.

Thanks.
sdector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 4:45 PM   #1152

I am no pro. an glad you see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I hear ya now iunderstand that you do not want to....

but have you as well tried it with the ext card reader, its one or two steps,but we will forgt to put back in cam and say "hey I missed that shot, b/c the card is not in the cam"

And that brings up one more observation.
internal pc card reader SMOOTH.

so now that the cam is working, the only other problem can be are you 100% sure the sdcard you have purchased is not counterfiet?

I use Sandisks, panasonic, Kingston, A-Data, Duracell, or polaroid. and again class cards or not, I range from 8mb-16gb. class 2-class4 possably one class 6 or 15mbbs. Most store bought, and few online at overstock, not ebay.
Old Aug 22, 2010, 7:15 PM   #1153

Default as a rule of thumb